Thursday, December 27, 2012

Catamount Athletics Year in Review: #9

Bill Stanley                    Laura Tieszen              Eric Johnson
Catamount Athletics Year in Review #9The 2012 WCU Athletic Hall of Fame Class

Three former student-athletes representing four different sports comprised the 2012 Western Carolina University Athletic Hall of Fame class.

Bill Stanley (Football, 1964-69), Eric Johnson (Football & Baseball, 1995-99) and Laura Tieszen Kamarainen (Women's Track & Field, 2002-05) make up this year's induction class.

Bill Stanley enjoyed a solid four-year career as both an offensive and defensive lineman for the Catamount football team under head coach Dan RobinsonStanley was a part of three-consecutive, non-losing teams at WCU from 1964-66. Playing for WCU in the old Carolinas Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (CIAC aka Carolinas Conference, member from 1933-1976) - Stanley became the first - and only - Catamount to win the Kirkland Blocking Trophy in 1967.

Laura Tieszen - Kamarainen captured 13 All-Southern Conference accolades during her outstanding four-year Western Carolina track & field career between the pole vault, javelin and the pentathlon/heptathlon events. She was a six-time SoCon champion in the women's pole vault including three individual crowns split equally between both the indoor and outdoor seasons, while also claiming individual championships in the outdoor heptathlon and the indoor pentathlon in 2005.

Eric Johnson was a two-sport athlete at Western Carolina from 1995-98, playing both football and baseball for the Catamounts. A two-time All-America selection in 1997 and '98, Johnson is one of just two former Catamount football players to earn consensus first team All-America accolades, joining Kerry Hayes (1993).

Purple & Gold's Year in Review Top 10:
10.  WCU's 2012 Football Season

Join the conversation and leave a comment below

No comments: