Monday, March 23, 2020

Skip Prosser Man of the Year award

BOSTON, MA -- Western Carolina head coach Mark Prosser is the recipient of the 2019-20 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award.  The award is named after Skip Prosser (Mark's father), who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest. The Man of Year award is presented annually by to someone who has not only achieved success on the basketball court but also displays moral integrity off the court as well.

Casey Alexander, Belmont
Steve Alford, Nevada
Chris Beard, Texas Tech
Tony Bennett, Virginia
Jerrod Calhoun, Youngstown State
Tim Craft, Gardner-Webb
Rick Croy, California Baptist
Steve Forbes, ETSU
John Gallagher, Hartford
Greg Gard, Wisconsin
Joe Golding, Abilene Christian
Anthony Grant, Dayton
Chris Holtmann, Ohio State
James Jones, Yale
Greg Lansing, Indiana State
Frank Martin, South Carolina
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Steve Pikiell, Rutgers
Mark Prosser, Western Carolina
Pat Skerry, Towson
Damon Stoudamire, Pacific
Andy Toole, Robert Morris
Russell Turner, UC Irvine

In his only his second season a head coach at Western Carolina, Prosser nearly tripled Western's win total, finishing with a 19-12 record. The Catamounts advanced to the semifinals of the Southern Conference Tournament and the 19 wins were the most since the 2013-14 season.

2019: Robert Jones, Norfolk State
2018: Casey Alexander, Lipscomb
2017: Danny Manning, Wake Forest
2016: Zack Spiker, Army
2015: Keno Davis, Central Michigan
2014: Brian Wardle, Green Bay
2013: Joe Mihalich, Niagara
2012: Jimmy Patsos, Loyola MD
2011: Chris Mack, Xavier
2010: Bob Marlin, Sam Houston State
2009: Ed Conroy, The Citadel
2008: Mike Brey, Notre Dame

The Skip Prosser award committee is a 21 member panel, consisting of 12 current or retired coaches, three members of the national media and five staff members.

No comments:

Post a Comment